The 7-11 Guy and David Bowie

I just randomly stumbled on David Bowie’s commentary about his song “I’m Afraid of Americans,” which sounds eerily familiar to a post I wrote earlier today.

[“I’m Afraid of Americans”] is not as truly hostile about Americans as say “Born in the U.S.A.”: it’s merely sardonic. I was traveling in Java when [its] first McDonald’s went up: it was like, “for fuck’s sake.” The invasion by any homogenized culture is so depressing, the erection of another Disney World in, say, Umbria, Italy, more so. It strangles the indigenous culture and narrows expression of life.

I love that last sentence.

Tags: ,

About stevemeetsworld

Documentary filmmaker. Curious traveler.

Leave a Reply

