Colombia AGAIN? – Answers II

…continued from Answers I.

transmilenioAre you happy there this time?

Last year I was enjoying life as always, but I wasn’t in love with Bogotá, and things just didn’t feel right.  This year I’m happy here.

Last year, hanging out with hitmen and army units for work was depressing.  This year, hanging out with smiling Colombians and eccentric expats is great.

Last year, working for a TV network (and a very challenging project) was stressful.  This year, well, I start working as a teacher in 3 days, so we’ll see.

Last year, living in a wealthy neighborhood, life was comfy and safe (and had great pricey Asian-fusion food!), but it was bland.  This year I’m living in the Candelaria.

IMG_7901

The Candelaria is the historic district of Bogotá.  Think: Latin American edginess + European cobblestoniness + San Francisco hilliness + San Francisco homelessness + San Francisco funkiness.

I’m digging it.  It’s walkable, filled with students and young professionals and travelers, has random activities and art popping up on every corner, and offers me a plethora of food/drink options.

Last year I was bitter at the food options in Bogotá (fried and little flavor).

This year: daily binges of savory Argentinian empanadas, Colombian coffee, Swiss curry pastries, organic garden-grown daily dishes, and meats marinated in tangy sauces made from local fruits like uchuva and lulo.

And it’s cheap.

Like this, for $4.00:

IMG_7841

Quinoa salad with Amazon chilis, squash soup, salmon, fresh-squeezed juices from fruits you’ve never heard of, yam, coconut desserts…

I love these streets.

1IMG_7906

Tags: , , , , ,

About stevemeetsworld

Documentary filmmaker. Curious traveler.

4 responses to “Colombia AGAIN? – Answers II”

  1. Amertine says :

    So you’ve been to that awesome place “Quinoa & amaranto”, haven’t you?! How I miss the Candelaria… Glad you’re feeling just in the right place, your mission: enjoying every bit of it now 🙂

    • stevemeetsworld says :

      Yes, I ate there yesterday! Great vegetarian place.

      There are two new places on my block that are mind-blowing — Tierra Candelaria and Sabores de Patagonia. You have to try them.

      • Amertine says :

        Great, I will thanks!! I’ve been to Q&A with Fay last year, the food was so tasty I still remember it 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Colombia AGAIN? – Answers | steve meets world - May 19, 2013

Leave a Reply

